Sara's Musings

Home » Thoughts on Christianity » A Very Good Ending To A Very Bad Week

A Very Good Ending To A Very Bad Week

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blogs I Follow

The Gospel of John

Click pic to start reading the Gospel of John

God’s Offer to Us

Click pic for "God's Offer for Us"

The Gospel Cannot Be Contained

Click pic for "The Gospel Cannot Be Contained"

The Cost of Discipleship

Click pic for "The Cost of Discipleship"

Our Highest Priority

Click pic for "Our Highest Priority"

Penetrating the Darkness

Click Pic for "Penetrating the Darkness"

Leaps of Faith

Click Pic for "Leaps of Faith"

A quick disclaimer: If you haven’t read my previous post, “From Ripped-Off to Renewal,” you need to read it to understand the background to this post, so click on the link above and read it and then come back.

As you know, this past week has just been a disaster dealing with a walk-in clinic who left me hanging when their prescription cured one thing but gave me another infection that required another prescription that they refused to give me by citing “company policy” as the reason (the policy didn’t allow them to dispense the very drug I needed to cure that infection).

By yesterday afternoon when I wrote my previous post I had totally had it with trying to get any help from that particular clinic and their organization (their clinics are nationwide) after shelling out $100 for their services which only created another problem (another infection) that they refused to treat. I was absolutely appalled at their total lack of concern about a very legitimate patient complaint. I even shot off an email to a high ranking person at their headquarters earlier in the week and never got a response.  Zero, zip, zilch, nada…

As I left off at the end of my previous post, I was headed off to “renew my mind” (Romans 12:2) by spending time with the Lord and seeking His help with all of this. Well, I must say that I spent a lot of the time beseeching Him to help me find resolution to this unfortunate dilemma (e.g. the infection I got from the prescription medication I took from the walk-in clinic was now in its eleventh day and I was feeling very miserable). All it would take is a prescription for two pills to end the infection, and yet the walk-in clinic would do absolutely nothing but give me excuses.

As I woke up this morning, I was prepared to run off to the the Health Department as they have a walk-in clinic on Friday afternoons for three hours to see people in financial situations like mine. I had already been to four other clinics this week seeking a solution but I didn’t meet the criteria for services at the clinics who help people with no or very low income, and it would cost me a lot of money to go to another regular walk-in clinic just to have someone see me to make sure I had the infection before they could give me a prescription for the two pills I needed. I was weary beyond belief and did not want to blow another $100 for something that should have been “fixed” at the first walk-in clinic that started this whole mess.

At one of the clinics I visited for low or no income people, I couldn’t be seen as I had too much money in my checking account to qualify for their services even though I had no income. However, the woman who ran this clinic was very nice and sympathetic to what had happened to me at the walk-in clinic and gave me the name of a OB/GYN doctor who might be able to see me on a sliding scale. She also gave me the names of a couple of other clinics that work with older and/or low/no income people. I checked out the other clinics first as I was afraid the OB/GYN doctor would be out of my price range. However, by this morning the thought of going to the Health Department was depressing so I decided to give the OB/GYN doctor’s office a call. They were willing to work with me on a sliding scale and were going to get back with me about the cost, but after I hung up I decided to go to their office because, quite frankly, I was desperate to get the prescription I needed for the infection I had because I was physically miserable from it.

Well, when I arrived at their office the staff of several women were just wonderful to me. I explained my situation and what I had been through this whole week starting on Monday trying to get the walk-in clinic to treat the infection that I had gotten from their prescription and that they had refused. They were very sympathetic to my plight, and to make a long story short, the woman OB/GYN doctor said she would see me and I would only be charged $20 for the visit plus any associated lab fees. After going through a week from hell trying to get the original walk-in clinic who created the problem to help me, I almost cried when this doctor was so willing to help me for such a low cost. It turned out that she had a most delightful sense of humor and was aware of the first clinic I went to and not surprised at how I had been treated by them. She checked to make sure I had the infection (I did) and after having a wonderful conversation with her, she gave me the prescription I needed and made sure I had four refills in case I needed them. I wanted to hug her!!! I ended up only having to pay $35 ($20 for the visit plus two lab fees), and the prescription was only $10. I let her and her staff know how very much I appreciated their kindness to me, and I was dancing on a cloud when I left their office.

So, I’m now on the mend from the second infection and will never darken the door of that first walk-in clinic ever again. Kindness goes a very long way and this doctor and her staff were incredibly kind and gracious to me. They resolved my problem at an incredibly low cost compared to what I would have had to pay anywhere else, even at the Health Department (upwards of $65 for the visit plus any associated lab fees). God had smiled on me big time by sending me to their office. And I pray that God blesses them greatly for their kindness.

So, a horrible, frustrating, miserable (from the infection) week has ended on the very best note possible. I received the kindness and the prescription I was in desperate need of from a very caring doctor and her very caring staff and at a cost so low I could hardly believe it. And not only did I get the prescription I needed but she gave me four refills just in case I needed more. We need a lot more people like them in this world.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning” (James 1:17).  This doctor and her staff were my “good and perfect gift” from God for this week. And what a marvelous gift they were to me.

Photo credit here

Follow Sara's Musings on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 294 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 31,750 hits

Translate This Blog

Click pic to go to translate page

Follow me on Twitter

Need Answers? Go to . . .

Click pic for "GotQuestions?org"

Don’t Put It Off

Click pic for "Don't Put It Off"

natsab

Here I stand.

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

It's a God thing...

Unpacking the baggage of life, love, and spirituality

drcristy

Dystopian Fiction Writer | Doctor | Wife | Mom

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

lovelyseasonscomeandgo

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Messianic Sabbath

A daily break in your day to celebrate our salvation in Yeshua (Jesus) and our abundant life through the Torah

For Such A Time As This

"...who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?" Esther 4:14

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Disciples of hope

Living the hope that comes from Christ

daily meditation

daily thoughts on scriptures

The Minstrel's Wife

A worship leader's missus and her views from the pew

From the Wisdom of our Founders

Important Quotations to Instruct and Inspire

Growing Forward

a blog for those seeking personal change for God's glory

The Old Guys

Quotes & Resources From... The Old Guys

Prime Reality Ministries

God is the Real Reality!

Flotsam and Jetsam

Random thoughts and commentaries on God's Word

Sara's Musings

Living It Out. . . on WordPress.com

Don Sweeting

Reflections on theology, worship, culture, history and the church

What's The Good Word?

Reflections on daily readings from the Scriptures

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

The Daily Way

A Daily Devotional from Dr. Michael Youssef

Jean Huang Photography - Los Angeles Custom Portraiture and Fine Art Photographer

"Transformational Beauty" "Maternity" "Newborn" "Children" "FineArt" Photography

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

Laura's Lens

Taking a look at the beauty around us

Perception

Photography. Life.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

The Elliptical Saloon

Weblog for WhiteHouseMuseum.org

Thought For the Day

Bringing whatever stirs my heart

A Breath of Fresh Air

"Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God." Philippians 2:15

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

ForeWords

Lectionary Musings within the Community of Christ

Of Dust & Kings

Empowering Faith. Transforming Culture.

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

gracefully50

On your birthday: count your candles, count your years, count your blessings.

lilies, sparrows and grass

"That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works." Psalm 26:7

