Sara's Musings

Home » Thoughts on Christianity » A Bit of Laughter for Labor Day

A Bit of Laughter for Labor Day

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blogs I Follow

The Gospel of John

Click pic to start reading the Gospel of John

God’s Offer to Us

Click pic for "God's Offer for Us"

The Gospel Cannot Be Contained

Click pic for "The Gospel Cannot Be Contained"

The Cost of Discipleship

Click pic for "The Cost of Discipleship"

Our Highest Priority

Click pic for "Our Highest Priority"

Penetrating the Darkness

Click Pic for "Penetrating the Darkness"

Leaps of Faith

Click Pic for "Leaps of Faith"

Woo Hoo!!! It’s another three-day holiday weekend! Now you may be a bit surprised that an unemployed person could get excited about a three-day holiday weekend. Just because I’m not getting paid for it and have no money to go anywhere, we who are among the unemployed (and there are currently millions of us) can still get excited about it like any normal employed person does, right? Right!!!

This afternoon I decided to high-tail it to the library to check out some books to help me unwind over the long holiday weekend. I checked out 37 (okay, maybe not that many) of the latest and greatest diet books to hit the shelves—I refuse to ever pay for another diet book again but that doesn’t stop me from continuing to seek a tried-and-true formula for losing 60 lbs in a week—plus, as an afterthought, I checked out Dave Barry’s latest offering “I’ll Mature When I’m Dead” (2010).

It’s the title that grabbed me. Many days (dare I say most?) I can so relate to it. Of course, anything that Dave Barry writes never fails to wildly entertain me with volumes of laughter. And, I can’t believe that Dave is in his early 60’s already (but then, I’ll be there soon enough myself). The only thing we have in common besides being baby boomers is that I actually lived in Miami for just under three years in the mid-1990’s, where he lives and writes a column for “The Miami Herald.” Now as a former Iowan, I did not fit in well in a city like Miami. And, the experience was light years away from anything I had experienced during my first year in Florida which I spent in Fort Lauderdale (1992-93). Being located close to each other is about all those two cities have in common. At least that was the case in 1992.

The first chapter I turned to in Dave’s book started on page 75, “Tips for Visiting Miami: No. 1: Are You Insane?” Now, Dave dearly loves his Miami and has lived there for years, but I have to tell you I practically rolled on the floor with laughter as I read it (not exactly a pretty sight considering those 60 lbs I want to lose in a week are still attached to my body). I could SO RELATE. I do remember that during those brief years that I lived in Miami that NOBODY wanted to come and visit me—for starters, Miami International Airport is located smack dab in the middle of one of the worst areas of Miami and for the unsuspecting traveler you don’t want to get lost navigating through those neighborhoods. But other than that (after all, many major big city airports are sometimes located in not-so-great areas of their respective cities) reading this chapter brought back many, well, interesting memories of my time in Miami.

Sometimes I feel like a cat with nine lives. My Florida years (and I’m still in Florida) comprise at least a couple of those lives—maybe three. Of course there was that year in Houston, and while I’ve been back in Florida for almost two years now from when I left there, my Houston experience was at least one of those nine “lives” all by itself and still reaches out to me two years later. I liked Houston. There’s some fabulous architecture there, and, of course, it has palm trees (a prerequisite for any city I live in after my many years in Florida). Sometimes in the night I think I can feel the city calling to me. Of course, that could just be acid-indigestion! And that is not to say that I haven’t loved living in Florida. I have! I remember my very first winter in Fort Lauderdale which totally convinced me that I never wanted to endure another winter “up north” again. But sometimes I feel like I still have “unfinished business” in Houston since my work experience and life there was so stunted and brief. I never really got to spread my wings in that city.

It’s an odd thing to go through this much time of unemployment and still not feel like I have any bearings. I have no idea what the future holds or where it might take me. I have no idea if I will stay in Florida or end up back in Houston or maybe spend time between both places. I like the idea of that, but that’s about all I know.

I try not to read into my feelings too much as I know that feelings can disappoint. I’ve been applying for jobs all over the United States so who knows where I will end up. (Well, God already knows. I sure wish He’d clue me in!) My phone stopped ringing months ago but I believe that is because I’ve now been unemployed for well over two years, and future employers don’t like to see that in an applicant. Indeed, I think it is a problem for most of the millions of us who have been unemployed for over two years. I think the long-term unemployed (since this massive unemployment problem all began a few years ago) are the most recent “disenfranchised” group in America, and it is a huge group and growing.

So anyway, I need this three-day holiday weekend to unwind just as much as any employed person does. I need to “get away” from the constant pressure of trying to find a job after such a long and fruitless search. I need to think about other things—fun things—if only for a few days. And while I know exactly what I need to do to lose 60 lbs without reading any of those books I checked out, I know that “getting off hold” in my daily life and having a purpose that makes me feel like a productive member of society again would end the frustration that keeps those 60 lbs on me, not that I’m trying to use that as an excuse. But for now I feel “stuck on hold.”

Sometimes I hate reading all of those “wait” verses in the Bible. I feel like I’ve been waiting my whole life. I understand why it took the Israelites 40 years to make an 11-day journey. It’s about giving up self and learning about God on a relational level, and that takes a very, very, very long time, and there are a lot of bumps in the road along the way. And some don’t make it just like the original generation that entered the wilderness in the first place. They failed to understand that this life was not about them (or in our case, about us) but about God. However, the children who were born in the wilderness did go on into the Promised Land after the original generation had died (you can read the entire story in Exodus), and that is where my hope lays, too.

So, with all of that being said, I’m glad I picked up Dave Barry’s latest book at the library today. Laughter really is the best medicine, and I believe it’s one of the best gifts God has given us to relieve the stresses of our lives (along with prayer).

“To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven:
A time to be born, and a time to die;
A time to plant, and a time to pluck what is planted;
A time to kill, and a time to heal;
A time to break down, and a time to build up;
A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn, and a time to dance….”

(Eccl. 3:1-4 NKJV)

I’ve spent many days over the past two years and four months weeping and mourning, but this weekend, I’m going to laugh, and maybe even dance…

And I hope you do, too.

Photo credit here

2 Comments

  1. wisejunction says:

    God created humor, therefore we should enjoy it. Laughter is the best medicine. It is oil for the bones.

    Like

  2. heartpeace says:

    Sara, how I can relate to where you are at. You hit the nail on ‘my’ head as I just recently said to myself… “I feel like I’ve been waiting my whole life”and I think we are close in age as well; I am a determined believer and long time fan of Dave Barrys too. To cope with my life, the good medicine
    of humor has been my common weapon of choice. Have you read anything by Nora Ephron? I enjoy her and Marsha Ford a lot. I am also blessed (as only God can do) to be a part of Author, Melanie Stiles, Writers Lifegroup she teaches in Houston. I have a new blog I would love to get your feedback on if you are interested. Thank you for your blog, it encourages me 🙂 I will be lifting you up in prayer, that good employment will come your way swiftly. The Lord lift your spirits and bless your heart ❤ Yours in Christ….heartpeace My blog:www.laughalotlovemore.wordpress.com

    Like

Comments are closed.

Follow Sara's Musings on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 291 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 33,031 hits

Translate This Blog

Click pic to go to translate page

Follow me on Twitter

Need Answers? Go to . . .

Click pic for "GotQuestions?org"

Don’t Put It Off

Click pic for "Don't Put It Off"

natsab

Here I stand.

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

It's a God thing...

Unpacking the baggage of life, love, and spirituality

drcristy

Dystopian Fiction Writer | Doctor | Wife | Mom

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

lovelyseasonscomeandgo

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Messianic Sabbath

A daily break in your day to celebrate our salvation in Yeshua (Jesus) and our abundant life through the Torah

For Such A Time As This

"...who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?" Esther 4:14

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Disciples of hope

Living the hope that comes from Christ

daily meditation

daily thoughts on scriptures

The Minstrel's Wife

A worship leader's missus and her views from the pew

From the Wisdom of our Founders

Important Quotations to Instruct and Inspire

Growing Forward

a blog for those seeking personal change for God's glory

The Old Guys

Quotes & Resources From... The Old Guys

Prime Reality Ministries

God is the Real Reality!

Flotsam and Jetsam

Random thoughts and commentaries on God's Word

Sara's Musings

Living It Out. . . on WordPress.com

Don Sweeting

Reflections on theology, worship, culture, history and the church

What's The Good Word?

Reflections on daily readings from the Scriptures

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

The Daily Way

A Daily Devotional from Dr. Michael Youssef

Jean Huang Photography - Los Angeles Custom Portraiture and Fine Art Photographer

"Transformational Beauty" "Maternity" "Newborn" "Children" "FineArt" Photography

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

Laura's Lens

Taking a look at the beauty around us

Perception

Photography. Life.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

The Elliptical Saloon

Weblog for WhiteHouseMuseum.org

Thought For the Day

Bringing whatever stirs my heart

A Breath of Fresh Air

"Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God." Philippians 2:15

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

ForeWords

Lectionary Musings within the Community of Christ

Of Dust & Kings

Empowering Faith. Transforming Culture.

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

gracefully50

On your birthday: count your candles, count your years, count your blessings.

lilies, sparrows and grass

"That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works." Psalm 26:7

