Sara's Musings

Home » Spiritual Warfare » There’s No Such Thing As Impossible

There’s No Such Thing As Impossible

June 2015
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blogs I Follow

The Gospel of John

Click pic to start reading the Gospel of John

God’s Offer to Us

Click pic for "God's Offer for Us"

The Gospel Cannot Be Contained

Click pic for "The Gospel Cannot Be Contained"

The Cost of Discipleship

Click pic for "The Cost of Discipleship"

Our Highest Priority

Click pic for "Our Highest Priority"

Penetrating the Darkness

Click Pic for "Penetrating the Darkness"

Leaps of Faith

Click Pic for "Leaps of Faith"

Luke 1:37

I was driving down a major road in a suburb of Orlando this afternoon when the following song came on the major Christian radio station here in Orlando–Z88.3, also known as the “Z.” It’s a fairly new song titled, Impossible,” (as in There’s No Such Thing As Impossible,”) by Building 429 (see YouTube Video below). As I listened to it, I suddenly had this realization that I had left a big part out of my “saga” over the past six plus years that I wrote about in two very recent blog posts.

On June 13, 2015, I wrote a blog post titled, Hanging In There,” and on June 19, 2015, I wrote a post that was somewhat of a sequel to it titled, The Times They Are A-Changin.'” In the first post I wrote about some evidence I found after I was fired from my job in Houston that clearly showed there was some, shall we say, “shenanigans” going on–to say the very least–which I sent to my lawyer back then but I never got a response from her (see post for more details).

In the second post, The Times They Are A-Changin,'” I gave some background information on my aspirations when I first landed in Houston on September 25, 2008, to start that ill fated job four days later and how they went down the tube along with the job when I lost it seven months later. In that post, I also mentioned that as I progressed through these past six plus years of unemployment I became aware that some of the things I discovered actually had a starting point fifteen years ago (actually, it was almost fourteen years ago now that I stopped and did the math–you’ll understand in a moment), and also I mentioned that I came to realize that these past six plus years were, indeed, God’s will for my life even though it didn’t look like the model of “success” we often adhere to in our Christian circles today as looking like “God’s will.” Unfortunately, this is mostly due to our inability to separate our culture and its standards for success from our practice of Christianity and how “success” from a Biblical perspective is often “upside down” when viewed from its Biblical definition (see Hebrews 11, for example).

One of the difficult things about writing blog posts that nobody else “edits” is that some of the things stated in them can be misconstrued by my reading audience without me even having a clue. However, sometimes clues can come in interesting ways. Like today, for example. After I heard the song mentioned above this afternoon on my car radio, I definitely had an “Ah ha” moment. Hence, I saw the need to further explain my comments, especially in the second blog post, The Times They Are A-Changin.'”

The “fifteen years” I mentioned in that second post (which turned out to actually be almost fourteen years), is in reference to the terrorist attacks that took place on September 11, 2001. For most of us 20+ or older, we know exactly where we were on that day when terrorists hijacked our planes and hit the twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York City, sending them crashing to the ground, as well as the hijacked plane that was flown into the Pentagon building in Washington D.C., and another hijacked plane that went down in a field in Pennsylvania. I was working at the University of Central Florida in Orlando at the time, and the campus was closed down around noon on that day, if I remember right. It was a huge shock to the nation and a wake up call to us that we were not nearly as invincible as we thought we were. Many things changed after that day over the past decade and a half (well, almost) since then, but as I listen to the news on a daily basis almost fourteen years later, with ISIS and terrorism on the march in many areas of our world including some home grown terrorist activities on our own shores, things appear to have only sped up since that fateful day in 2001.

Regarding my comment in that second post that these past six plus years since I lost my job in Houston and all that I have experienced since then, to include starting and continuing to write on this blog, is God’s will for my life is exactly as I meant it, but I should have explained a bit further and since I didn’t, I will do that now.

I’ve been a Christian since I was a very young girl. One of the major topics “back then” and going into adulthood (and it still is a popular topic) is finding God’s will for your life.” I smiled as I typed that as there is just so much confusion on this particular topic and many famous Christians have written on the subject (both living and now dead). It was almost as if once we found “God’s will,” we could relax a bit knowing we were doing what we were meant to do. It was as if “God’s will” was an occupation, in and of itself. And we often hear folks say they felt the “call of God” to go into a certain profession. Now, I’m not writing to discount any of that, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it is easier to find then we think it is, and tougher to actually do, too, if that makes sense.

yieldHere’s the answer: Yield. We must lay aside everything we want and leave it with God and let Him decide. We can’t run our own show and expect to find God’s will in the middle of it. In fact, if we run our own show, we won’t find God’s will at all. We may think we will or do, after all, Christianity’s definition of success is often the same as our American culture’s definition of success, but that doesn’t mean it’s correct. God’s will is never about the “externals” in our lives; it’s about the “internal.” Who do we belong to? Ourselves? Or God? Do we want what we want at any cost to ourselves or others while sitting in church on Sunday morning thinking it is perfectly okay to think and act like that? Many do.

The Prosperity Gospel (also referred to as the health and wealth gospel, or the gospel of success–source here) focuses on what we can get in the “here and now.” Wikipedia defines it as follows:

The Prosperity Gospel is a Christian religious doctrine that financial blessing is the will of God for Christians, and that faith, positive speech, and donations to Christian ministries will increase one’s material wealth. Based on non-traditional interpretations of the Bible, often with emphasis on the Book of Malachi, the doctrine views the Bible as a contract between God and humans: if humans have faith in God, he will deliver his promises of security and prosperity. Confessing these promises to be true is perceived as an act of faith, which God will honor.

The doctrine emphasizes the importance of personal empowerment, proposing that it is God’s will for his people to be happy. The atonement (reconciliation with God) is interpreted to include the alleviation of sickness and poverty, which are viewed as curses to be broken by faith. This is believed to be achieved through visualization and positive confession, and is often taught in mechanical and contractual terms. (Quote source here.)

Whether one attends a church that teaches this false gospel or not, greed has always been around and easily enters the hearts of all of us. Jesus had a lot to say about money, and the greatest thing he said is found in Matthew 6:24:

No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.

In Matthew 19:16-26 (repeated again in Mark 10:17-27), Jesus has the following conversation with a rich young man:

The Rich and the Kingdom of God

Just then a man came up to Jesus and asked, “Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?”

“Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, keep the commandments.”

“Which ones?” he inquired.

Jesus replied, “You shall not murder, you shall not commit adultery, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, honor your father and mother,’and ‘love your neighbor as yourself.”

“All these I have kept,” the young man said. “What do I still lack?”

Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

When the young man heard this, he went away sad, because he had great wealth.

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Truly I tell you, it is hard for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of heaven. Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”

When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and asked, “Who then can be saved?”

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

Far too often we are way too concerned with this material world we live in and what we can get from it. And it doesn’t matter where we reside on the socio-economic scale in society. We are born greedy, and if Jesus makes no real difference in our lives, we will die greedy, too. And it’s amazing what we will do if something or someone crosses our path (regardless of how right or wrong it is) enabling us to acquire some of that wealth and all it can buy. Nobody is immune. And it is the one of the true tests of character, which seems to be waning on a large scale today.

So what did Jesus mean when he said it was easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God and that, in answer to the disciples’ question, “Who then can be saved?” He answered, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” Did you get that?

“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” We can’t do it, but God can do it. God can change us. And He changes us from the inside out. But do we want to change? If we aren’t willing, then what does God or Jesus Christ really mean to us?

Let’s take money out of the equation for a moment. There is another classic example in Luke 1 regarding the ability of God to do the impossible. And it contains the answer we all must reach in order to accomplish God’s will in our own lives. It is found in Luke 1:26-38:

Now in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent by God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. And having come in, the angel said to her, “Rejoice, highly favored one, the Lord is with you; blessed are you among women!”

But when she saw him, she was troubled at his saying, and considered what manner of greeting this was. Then the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bring forth a Son, and shall call His name JesusHe will be great, and will be called the Son of the Highest; and the Lord God will give Him the throne of His father David. And He will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of His kingdom there will be no end.”

Then Mary said to the angel, “How can this be, since I do not know a man?”

And the angel answered and said to her, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Highest will overshadow you; therefore, also, that Holy One who is to be born will be called the Son of God. Now indeed, Elizabeth your relative has also conceived a son in her old age; and this is now the sixth month for her who was called barren. For with God nothing will be impossible.

Then Mary said, “Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word.” And the angel departed from her.

No plan of Yours can be thwartedThe “impossible” in this story is two-fold: Elizabeth, a relative of Mary’s, conceived a son (John the Baptist) when she was way past child bearing age, and he was the forerunner announcing the Messiah (Jesus), and Mary’s miraculous conception by the Holy Spirit was that of the very Messiah (Jesus). And what was Mary’s response? “Let it be to me according to your word.” She yielded even though at that time she was betrothed to Joseph. Imagine the slander that came her way once it was known that she was pregnant. And if it has not been for an angel announcing to Joseph that it was okay for him to marry her as the child in her was conceived by the Holy Spirit, he might have divorced  her quietly (see Matthew 1:18-24). And as we know from the little that is told to us about her in the Gospel accounts, her life was not an easy one and she lived to see her son crucified and resurrected.

Another example is Job. Throughout the 42 chapters in the Book of Job, at the end Job learned a vital lesson. After the Lord spoke to Job in Chapters 38-41, Job responded with the following statement in Job 42:1-6:

Then Job replied to the Lord:

“I know that you can do all things;
    no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’
    Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,
    things too wonderful for me to know.

“You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak;
    I will question you,
    and you shall answer me.’
My ears had heard of you
    but now my eyes have seen you.
Therefore I despise myself
    and repent in dust and ashes.”

We live in a society that admires accomplishment, wealth, self-sufficiency, power. “Repent” is not a word that comes easy to most Americans. Yet it is by repentance and yielding that we find our way in truly knowing and obeying and yielding to God’s will. And it is done on a daily basis. It is a matter of the heart.

When I said in my previous post that these past six plus years of unemployment and all that has transpired during this time has been God’s will for my life, I meant it. He has changed me from the inside out, and for the better, too. I see life differently now, with a much broader stroke of the brush. It’s not just my own small world anymore, but it encompasses the globe. While my circumstances have at times been less then desirable for most people living in our culture (e.g., being unemployed for over six years and now living in hotels for the past nine months), they have opened me up to a side of society we often neglect, a side that isn’t very pretty, a side in need of redemption.

God’s will defies boundaries and human understanding, and it is not wrapped up in our preconceived images of success as we see it here in America. And as Job stated above, I know that you [God] can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted.”

I have no idea how much longer I will have to be living in a hotel, and I stopped looking for work a while ago (nobody has responded to my applications in over a year now anyway), yet I know that I am in the palm of God hand, and in His time He will change my circumstances. Like David said in Psalm 27:13-14:

I remain confident of this:
    I will see the goodness of the Lord
    in the land of the living.
Wait for the Lord;
    be strong and take heart
    and wait for the Lord.

After all . . .

Nothing is impossible with God . . . .

YouTube Video: “There’s No Such Thing As Impossible,” (also known as “Impossible”), by Building 429:

Photo #1 credit here
Photo #2 credit here
Photo #3 credit here

Follow Sara's Musings on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 291 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 33,031 hits

Translate This Blog

Click pic to go to translate page

Follow me on Twitter

Need Answers? Go to . . .

Click pic for "GotQuestions?org"

Don’t Put It Off

Click pic for "Don't Put It Off"

natsab

Here I stand.

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

It's a God thing...

Unpacking the baggage of life, love, and spirituality

drcristy

Dystopian Fiction Writer | Doctor | Wife | Mom

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

lovelyseasonscomeandgo

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Messianic Sabbath

A daily break in your day to celebrate our salvation in Yeshua (Jesus) and our abundant life through the Torah

For Such A Time As This

"...who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?" Esther 4:14

The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Disciples of hope

Living the hope that comes from Christ

daily meditation

daily thoughts on scriptures

The Minstrel's Wife

A worship leader's missus and her views from the pew

From the Wisdom of our Founders

Important Quotations to Instruct and Inspire

Growing Forward

a blog for those seeking personal change for God's glory

The Old Guys

Quotes & Resources From... The Old Guys

Prime Reality Ministries

God is the Real Reality!

Flotsam and Jetsam

Random thoughts and commentaries on God's Word

Sara's Musings

Living It Out. . . on WordPress.com

Don Sweeting

Reflections on theology, worship, culture, history and the church

What's The Good Word?

Reflections on daily readings from the Scriptures

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

The Daily Way

A Daily Devotional from Dr. Michael Youssef

Jean Huang Photography - Los Angeles Custom Portraiture and Fine Art Photographer

"Transformational Beauty" "Maternity" "Newborn" "Children" "FineArt" Photography

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

Laura's Lens

Taking a look at the beauty around us

Perception

Photography. Life.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

The Elliptical Saloon

Weblog for WhiteHouseMuseum.org

Thought For the Day

Bringing whatever stirs my heart

A Breath of Fresh Air

"Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God." Philippians 2:15

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Tracking events and trends in Israel, the U.S., Russia and throughout the Epicenter (the Middle East & North Africa)

ForeWords

Lectionary Musings within the Community of Christ

Of Dust & Kings

Empowering Faith. Transforming Culture.

A MINIATURE CLAY POT

"We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives" 2 Corinthians 4:7 The Message

gracefully50

On your birthday: count your candles, count your years, count your blessings.

lilies, sparrows and grass

"That I may publish with the voice of thanksgiving, and tell of all thy wondrous works." Psalm 26:7

